RIBA Honorary Fellowships

The RIBA Council has approved 14 new RIBA Honorary Fellowships to reward individuals from a wide range of backgrounds, including politics, journalism, architecture, engineering and the arts.
RIBA Honorary Fellowships are awarded annually to people who have made a particular contribution to architecture – in the broadest sense. This includes its promotion, administration and outreach; and its role in building more sustainable communities and in the education of future generations.

RIBA President Angela Brady said:

'Each of this year's Honorary Fellows has made an enormous contribution to architecture, whether as a practitioner, designer, curator, writer or policy maker. The RIBA values everything that they have brought – in their very different ways – to the knowledge, understanding and appreciation of the world of architecture. I look forward to presenting them with their Honorary Fellowships in February.'


The 2012 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be awarded to:(按姓氏排序,共14位新院士)

  • Nicole Crockett Chief Executive, Building Exploratory
  • Robert Elwall Assistant Director, Photographs Collection, British Architectural Library, RIBA
  • Adrian Forty academic and writer
  • Malcolm Hankey Managing Director, Civic Trust Awards
  • Boris Johnson Mayor of London
  • Doug King environmental engineer, King Shaw Associates
  • Fiona MacCarthy writer
  • Frank McDonald Environment Editor, Irish Times
  • Sandra O’Connell writer and curator, Open House Dublin
  • Peter Rees Chief Planning Officer, City of London
  • Peter Salter academic and writer
  • Richard Simmons academic and former Chief Executive, CABE
  • Chris Smith National Planning Director, English Heritage
  • Ai Weiwei artist

The 2012 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be presented at a ceremony at the RIBA in London on 9 February 2012.

This year’s RIBA Honours Committee was chaired by RIBA President Angela Brady and included architects David Adjaye, Yvonne Farrell, Niall McLaughlin, Sarah Wigglesworth and Sir Terence Conran.

背景知识:英国皇家建筑师学会于1834年以英国建筑师学会的名称成立,1837年取  英国皇家学会金质奖章得英皇家学会资格。它的宗旨是:开展学术讨论,提高建筑设计水平,保障建筑师的职业标准。