Former Taiwan Premier to Visit China

As Hu Jintao seems to be reaching for better cross-straits relations with Taiwan, former DPP chairman Frank Hsieh will make a ‘trailblazing’ visit to China. From Shanghaiist: Former chairman of Taiwan’s Democratic Progressive Party (DPP), Frank Hsieh, has announced that he will visit mainland China on Thursday. Hsieh served as premier from February 2005 to January 2006 and will become the most senior member of the previous DPP administration to visit China. The DPP, which favours de jure Taiwanese independence rather than the One Country, Two Systems approach, has long been seen as anti-China, but has softened its stance following the party’s defeat in the 2012 presidential election. Hsieh, who has been invited to China by the International Bartenders Association, emphasised the need for dialogue between DPP politicians and their mainland counterparts: As a political party, we have the obligation to represent Taiwan and speak up for our rights. We also have the obligation to protect our Taiwanese businessmen there. If the ruling Kuomintang joining hands with the Communist Party of China to deal with the DPP becomes a norm, I’ll be extremely worried that talk of our return to power will be nothing more than a legend. According to AFP, the meeting has been described as an ‘ice-breaking’: “The purpose of the trip is to build mutual trust,” said Hsieh, declining to say if he would meet Chinese government officials during the five-day visit. “The DPP should face the reality of China’s rise…if the DPP keeps refusing to change its position and let the Kuomintang and the Chinese communist parties work hand in hand, I’m afraid the DPP will never be able to get back into power,” Hsieh said. Voters in January re-elected President Ma Ying-jeou of the Kuomintang party, endorsing the Beijing-friendly policies he has pursued since he ...
« Back to Article

2 Responses to Former Taiwan Premier to Visit China

  1. DH says:

    According to the WSJ article, 4 Asian nations (not 2) are already participants in the visa-waiver program: Brunei, Japan, Singapore and South Korea.